OCHGE Mission Statement

The mission of the Ohio Council on Holocaust and Genocide Education is to advance and improve Holocaust and genocide education in Ohio through professional development, educator workshops, and the dissemination of tools that connect educators and the public with accurate, relevant, and useful educational resources.


In 1986, the 46-member, non-profit Ohio Council on Holocaust Education was founded by executive order (Executive Order 86-24) of then Governor Richard F. Celeste, with Max Friedman and Dagmar Celeste, as co-chairs. In 2013, the Council voted to amend its name to the Ohio Council on Holocaust and Genocide Education (OCHGE), but the purpose of the Council remains the same as it was the day of its founding–to expand and improve Holocaust and genocide education in Ohio and throughout the country.

The administrative operations of the Council have, at various times, been overseen by staff at educational institutions throughout the state. Currently, the Council is housed in the Department of History at Cleveland State University.

To accomplish its objectives, OCHGE provides educators with accurate, relevant, and useful materials for teaching about the Holocaust and genocide through the Council’s website. The website also offers access to information regarding Holocaust-related events throughout the state. OCHGE itself conducts workshops in which teachers learn and discuss how to teach this content. To date, OCHGE has trained over a thousand educators at workshops at colleges and universities throughout the state. Demand for these learning events for educators continues, as genocide, war crimes, and human rights violations have not abated in our times.

Former Ohio Governor Richard Celeste

Board of Directors

The Ohio Council on Holocaust and Genocide education is governed by the Members of its Board. These include academics, teachers, and citizens with a concern for Holocaust education.

Executive Director

Dr. Mark B. Cole – Cleveland


Tim Murnen, PhD. – Bowling Green


Brad Beach, PhD. – North Canton

Council Members

Mark Ebner – Columbus

Heather Elliott-Famularo – Toledo

Marilyn W. Feldman – Canton

Ellen Fettner – Cincinnati

Roman Frayman – Beachwood

Renate Frydman, Ph.D. – Dayton

Esther Cohen Hexter – Akron

Steven J. Howell, Ph.D. – Kent

Marty J. Kalb – Delaware

Janyce C. Katz, Esq. – Columbus

Jesse McClain, NBCT – Youngstown

Jillian Nataupsky – Hudson

Cynthia Rovai – Lebanon

Helena Schlam – Columbus

Suzyn Schwebel Epstein – Boardman (Past President)

Ira Segalewitz – Dayton


Read the Ohio Council On Holocaust & Genocide Education By-Laws